Today is the Day… Finally

The truck is not packed, but thanks to my very good friend, Greg, it has a bed cover.  I’m grateful.

There are things I have to do that others have said they will do for me. I’m grateful.

I’m procrastinating because I don’t want to go, but I am so excited to take that first step.

I laughed yesterday because I tried the harnesses on the cats and they just acted like big babies. They both found a way to shed them. KitKat probably did so while she was outside. Twix wouldn’t show her face again until she was out of hers. When I first attached it, she acted as if she couldn’t walk, clinging to the side and corner of the bed, her eyes open wide in the fear that somehow this new contraption would suck her into a bottomless abyss from which she would never return. Because soft food.

I will continue to look for a place in Juneau and apply for jobs while I am on the road. I will take lots of pictures but I will also try to be in the moment with each location, each place in my journey, and eventually, with my destination.

I will miss you. Every person reading this. I could write for days a personal anecdote for each of you close to me. For the people who cried real tears, who helped me when I could not help myself, who sat silently with me when I needed the closeness but no words. For those who defended me, who had my back, and who went to battle on my behalf. I will miss you. I love you.

internet-hugs-smiley-cartoon-image

I will miss Macon. The hustle and bustle that now exists couldn’t have been there without you. You were with me raising your hands to our friends who are musicians, or spoken word artists. You were with me as we saw artists come into themselves. You were with me while we sat at bars drinking cheap ass beer, helping them stay open. You were there while we were doing the damn thing and that is what is hard to leave. We helped grow the environment in Macon that I love. I’m grateful.

It’s hard to leave the things and the people you love.

But I carry you all in my heart. I carry your words and hugs and tears with me. They are in my tears. They will be in my hugs to those in the future. If you think I’m great, it’s only because you helped me be great. It’s only because we saw eye to eye, most times, and we collaborated, and we got shit done. It’s because we were devoted to one cause, that cause was helping Macon become the place we wanted to enjoy, the place we wanted to raise a family, and the place which continually entertained. You made me great and now I get to take what you helped create and take it to other places. I’m grateful.

You made me great and I’m very grateful.

3 thoughts on “Today is the Day… Finally

  1. So excited to hear about where your greatness will take you! I am sure this will be an amazing experience and that you will totally OWN Alaska. I didn’t know you well, but I will miss your positive presence. Stay awesome. 🙂

    Like

  2. sweetie ( and you are), I am so glad I had the privilege to meet you. A huge smile is always in your wake… I will hold these memories close . Please keep me posted of your adventure. It is something I’ve done (going to Texas without a job or real destination.. Ended up grooming horses in Shreveport Louisiana!) have fun! Keep a journal, take pics! You only live once, my love! Embrace life! Love, martha aka firestarter😍

    Like

Leave a comment