One Thing: The Mendenhall Glacier

It was beautiful today and still I planned to stay home watching tv. It’s a symptom rather than a problem. I have been watching my money for so long that I don’t go out and meet people in a casual setting lightly lubricated by alcohol. When I do go out, I am solitary because I don’t know anyone who have the freedom to get out when I do… They have kids or desire to stay home because while all of this stuff is new to me, it is old hat to them. So I find myself lamenting my aloneness and wallowing, though I wouldn’t have called it that before I had my “come to Angel” moment. It was kind of a spiritual experience where I saw my myself becoming something of a recluse, holing up in my house, me and the cat driving each other crazy… And I realized that though I did not make my friends quickly in Macon, I did start meeting people right away when I came back.

But first, this beautiful day.

IMG_4322

This, my friends, is the Mendenhall Glacier. It was originally known as Sitaantaagu (“the Glacier Behind the Town”) by the Tlingits. The glacier was named Auke (Auk) Glacier by naturalist John Muir for the Tlingit Auk Kwaan band in 1888. In 1891 it was renamed in honor of Thomas Corwin Mendenhall. It extends from the Juneau Icefield, its source, to Mendenhall Lake and ultimately the Mendenhall River. (Wikipedia)

All I know is it’s frakkin’ beautiful!

IMG_4324

The rock in the foreground was revealed when the glacier receded. It’s been retreating sing the 1700s.

IMG_4326

Look at that! At one point, this area was completely under the ice.

IMG_4335

Mendenhall Lake began to form in 1931.

IMG_4336

In the winter there is ice skating.

IMG_4338

Snow capped mountain near the Glacier.

IMG_4339

Going to the Glacier was my reward for getting a job. However, working really takes something out of you, so it took me a month to make it out. I’ve done a few other things on the weekends, but visiting the Glacier was definitely worth the wait!

IMG_4345

If you’re a lover of nature, this is a place you should put on your list.

IMG_4348

I followed the path down to the lake and gazed out at towards the Glacier. Next time, I’ll visit Nugget Falls, which will require a hike. Maybe in the spring when it starts to get warmer.

I’ve not seen everything Juneau has to offer yet knowing that there is more to see is something I adore about this town. It’s hard for the people who live here to believe. They scrunch their shoulders together in anticipation of a negative comment when they ask me how I like the rain or how I like it here. None of them can believe I chose to come here in the fall/winter when it’s Juneau at its worst – at least in their minds. This journey has been fantastic and the Glacier is only the start of the wonderful things I will see and experiences I will know.

Leave a comment